Sunday Morning First Aid and Cinnamon Muffins

The kids are being unusually sweet and cooperative this morning, as I bribed them with homemade (Betty Crocker made them, anyway, in her factory home in Minneapolis) cloyingly sweet and fluffy cinnamon muffins. There are no health benefits; in fact, no redeeming nutritional value whatsoever, but my kids are grateful, and “mmmmm!!!”-ing, and not fighting at the moment.

Abby called me over to the rocking chair to perform emergency surgery on the cat, whose eyebrow area is evidently irresistible to microscopic, springtime, New England area-based ticks. Abby held the cat on her lap while I hunted down the tweezers.

ringmastertweezers.jpg

Abby: Poor kitty! Do you want a cinnamon muffin?

Hannah: DON’T, Abby, that will make him throw up.

Abby: He needs a distraction so Mom doesn’t poke his eye out.

Hannah: I remember once when I was a baby, I had two ticks in my ear. I pulled them out myself, and saved my life.

Abby: That was earwax, stupid.

UPDATE: Surgery successful. Tick flushed. Kids fighting, as the memory of cinnamony deliciousness wears off and the sugar kicks in.

6 responses to “Sunday Morning First Aid and Cinnamon Muffins

  1. southerngirl

    would it be wrong to *snork* at this point?

  2. Not even a little. :)

  3. Jeff Meyerson

    Speaking of which… this may be TMI and is definitely totally gross… ready?

    My brother (in Oregon) went camping for the first time in 10 years. He didn’t feel well when he came back and his left shoulder was really aching. He went to the doctor, who discovered a LARGE TICK attached there, still alive and sucking!

    WTFBBQ!?

    Anyone still want a muffin?

  4. Ick… actually, it’s the “not feeling well” part that gets to me more than the disgusting, swollen tick.

    I remember finding one attached to the back of my head. I was on the phone with a friend and interrupted whatever sentence I was in the middle of to calmly announce, “Oh! I have a tick attached to my scalp.” No lasting damage, but it was a little disconcerting to consider how long it may have been there, setting up house in my hair.

    But now, that thought is taking me to the place dreaded by all parents of longhaired children… the land of head lice… and I don’t want to go there, so I’ll stop now.

    *thinks pretty thoughts*

  5. I’d never used the word “cloyingly” associated with cinnamon rolls but I love it–you have a nice way of expressing yourself.

  6. Jeff Meyerson

    Jackie taught 2nd & 3rd grade for 30 years and had to deal with many Lice Invasions (GNFARB).

Leave a Reply

