Happy Mother’s Day!

Hannah skipped toward me this morning with a large grin on her face and informed me that I was, under no circumstances, allowed to get up. I said, “Hannah, you realize that if I don’t get up, you won’t get any bacon, right?” She considered this quandary very carefully before saying, “Nope! You have to stay in bed.”

She made toast — all by her big seven year-old self — and brought it to me with pomp, circumstance, and a big “ta da!”

Then she showered me with gifts; all things that she made herself. This was her Mother’s Day masterpiece, which was presented rolled up, wrapped in gold paper, and tied with a curly ribbon. The picture shows the house and front yard, with details of the garden, where I have spent a lot of time lately.

hmday_2.jpg

Sam and Abby were sweet with hugs and Happy Mother’s Day wishes, but evidently are too cool to make stuff for me anymore.

*sniff*

8 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Happy Mother’s Day, Kay, and give your kids a great big hug from me. :)

    love ya, sistah!

  2. You’re not supposed to make a grown man cry……Happy MD

  3. KDF, Congrats! Your yard looks terrific. ;) I’d write more, but I’m busy doing nothing for Mother’s Day. I posted details of my celebration on my blog. No wonderful artwork, but fun anyway.

  4. That’s just *nice*!
    You must be a wonderful mom.

  5. Um… thanks, PB! Although some people may feel differently, from time to time. :)

  6. May I complamit you on having such butaful and wondreful chidren! They are very lucky to have such an incredibel mother – and I think they know it, even when they come at you with a baseball bat (I mean, she didn’t actually hit you…)

  7. Jeff Meyerson

    Aww, sweet!

    Hope it was a great Mother’s Day.

  8. Awww that is so sweet. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

