Tastes Like Summer

Hey, I haven’t written a recipe post in a long time! But I got inspired this weekend.

When it’s cold, I make soup, but when spring sprouts and the sun gets warm, I crave fresh strawberries, still warm from the sun, garden tomatoes, anything involving basil, and my mom’s Black Bean Salad. I make it almost weekly throughout the summer, and never get tired of it. It’s one of those “I don’t need to look at the recipe anymore because I know all the ingredients” kind of recipes, although occasionally, I’ll realize a day after mixing some up that I forgot a thing or two. It always works, though. Two of my kids won’t go near it, of course (because it has vegetables and stuff… ew!) But Abby loves it, and we bond over every bowl.

blkbeansalad.jpg

Black Bean Salsa Salad

2 15 oz. cans black beans, drained and rinsed

2 cups sweet corn kernels; either frozen (the Trader Joe’s kind is gooood) or from 3 ears of fresh corn

1 red pepper, finely diced

1 large red onion, chopped

2 jalapeno peppers, minced (I don’t go near these babies unless I’m wearing rubber gloves, and I hold my breath until I’ve disposed of the seeds. Catching a whiff, or getting even thet tiniest bit of pepper juice anywhere near the eyes… is… brutal. The flavor is worth it. But yes, I am a wimp.)

1 (except that I use 3) clove(s) garlic, pressed or chopped very fine

1 big ole’ handful of fresh cilantro; coarsely chopped

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper

Juice of one fresh lime

5 TBLS olive oil

5 TBLS red wine vinegar

Throw everything together in a large bowl. Chill for 1 – 24 hours to let flavors blend. You may need to reseason with salt and/or a touch of vinegar just before serving.

This stuff works as a side dish or all by itself. Of course, it all goes better with the perfect summer drink.

One response to “Tastes Like Summer

  1. Jeff Meyerson

    It looks great! I love black beans and jalapenos.

Leave a Reply

