My Current Lunch Obsession

Hm, I haven’t written a food post in a while. And dang it, I’m hungry!

This time of year, as a rule, I consume far more than my fair share of tomatoes. They are everywhere, and those big-mama beefsteaks are gooooood. By all rights, I should be all lycopened out by now, but nope, I could eat them every day, and never get tired of their garden-tomatoey goodness.

I made this up for lunch yesterday, and thought I’d share it here since I’m obsessed with it on a level that would do Homer Simpson proud. And while it’s not exactly a reduced-cal offering, it can be. A little cheese goes a long way, since the flavors are so strong. I used maybe one tablespoon total per slice of bread, and did not feel in any way deprived. Of course, I could (and often do) go the Homer route and pile it on, and um, that’d probably be pretty tasty, too.

Open-Faced, Toasted Tomato and Basil Sammich with Dijon Mustard and Cheeeeeeeeese

1) Lightly toast one or two slices of bread

2) Slather toast with dijon or other mustard (my current favorite is Jack Daniel’s Hickory Smoke flavor)

3) Cover with a layer of cheeses — I used baby swiss and crumbled goat cheese for a nice strong *pop*

4) Arrange fresh garden tomato slices on top of the cheese. And not just one measly slice in the middle — go for Maximum Tomato Coverage!

5) Top tomatoes with a bit of shredded or shaved parmigiano-reggiano and fresh, chopped basil

6) Toast under broiler until cheese is melted and slightly brown (but don’t walk away — the difference between “perfect” and “incinerated” is approximately 20 seconds)

7) Eat with a knife, a fork, and a smile

8) Enjoy your food coma

11 responses to “My Current Lunch Obsession

  1. You made me laugh with the 20 difference seconds…
    My sister brought me huge tomatoes from her garden 2 days ago. I’ll go for this recipe for sure!!
    I’ll soon be posting one recipe out of tomatoes, you are invited to see!
    http://recipespicbypic.blogspot.com
    Enjoy!
    Núria

  2. I passed this along to my sister since she’s a tomato lover. I won’t eat fresh tomatoes; they’ve got to be cooked down and unrecognizable. Soups, sauces, etc.

    Everyone in my family thinks I’m nuts and/or not related to them.

    I used to feel the same way, B. Then I discovered beefsteaks. Completely different food group. :) -KDF

  3. Speaking of food comas…

    I just had a late lunch at Pastarrific to celebrate the successful completion of my corporate finance exam. Have you ever had a chocolate crème brûlée? Oh. My. Goodness. Limitless levels of delectable delight.

  4. You can’t make me use utensils.

    When I open my restaurant, I expect your resume.

    Done! -KDF

  5. A veritable work of art. Since I have had a bumper crop this year, I believe I know what is for dinner tonight. Thanks for the beautiful presentation and the SNORK on the ‘perfect’ and ‘incinerated’.

  6. Looks tasty.

    Jackie is with you, Bumble, as a tomato has to be cooked to eat. Exceptions: salsa, bruschetta.

  7. I didn’t used to eat salsa either, but it’s grown on me as I got older. As for bruschetta, forget the tomatoes. Give me basil pesto and a sprinkling of mozzarella and broil the sucker a bit. No need to clutter something that good up with fresh tomatoes. :-)

    *ducks and runs before KDF thwacks her (or pelts her with tomatoes)*

    You’d BETTER run, girlie! ;) -KDF

  8. This sounds delicious, and perfect for my tastes. Though I might leave out the goat cheese. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Looks great! I’ve been making a lot of caprese lately when CG comes over for lunch. Now I can alternate with this recipe. :)

    If you try it, lemme know how it goes over, please! And caprese sounds delicious. -KDF

  10. Sounds delicious! Hope you don’t mind that I copied it, and I will definitely try it soon. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Pingback: Revelation « Why Would I Sleep?

Leave a Reply

