Since Uncle Doug Outed Me…

hbdaycrd.jpg

1) Yes it is my birthday. Thank you for the birthday wishes in the comments section of my most recent post.

2) No, I am not 29. I am 29 plus an eighth grader.

3) Hannah gets very excited about all birthdays, because, a) she is a loving and generous child; and, b) she is ever-optimistic that there might be leftover cake and presents that just maybe, possibly, could be for her.

Just like most days, I was folding laundry this morning when Hannah woke up.

I heard her little voice croak, “Mom?” The tone indicated that she was still rubbing the sleep out of her eyes.

“Yes, Hannah?” I smiled, anticipating enthusiastic birthday wishes and multiple bear hug-tackles from my 47-pound blonde.

She paused to yawn. I beamed, already feeling the unabashed affection about to come my way. Then, Hannah asked, with tremendous love and concern: “Did the Red Sox win?”

She did come in soon after that to present me with my first homemade, pop-up birthday card of the day. And I did get hugs and kisses, from all of my kids, but not until after they had properly “WOO HOO!!!”d and proclaimed relief and excitement regarding the Big Game 1 Victory.

I admire that level of commitment. And they will get cake.

6 responses to “Since Uncle Doug Outed Me…

  1. Well happy birthday!

    On my birthday I didn’t get anything really. Just lame greetings from family and friends (that I had to remind was my birthday). It’s nice you had a good time.

    Don’t mind me, I just saw your blog and had to extend birthday wishes. :)

    Have a great one <3

  2. happy birthday, sistah

    wish i could be there to give ya a hug!

    *smooch*

    Aw, me too. :) -KDF

  3. *laughs*

    Your kids are awesome.

    Happy Birthday, Kay! :-)

    Thanks, B! -KDF

  4. Happy Birthday!

    plus an 8th grader, huh?

    Well, 42 is the answer to everything.

    Exactly my point. -KDF

  5. Unless it’s (nearly) 59.

    Just sayin’.

    Happy Birthday again.

    But did you have to mention That Team?

    Yes. I. Did. :D -KDF

  6. Pingback: I Think There Might Be A Compliment In Here Somewhere « Why Would I Sleep?

Leave a Reply

