All She Wants for Christmas Is A Whole Bunch of Stuff

hxmaslist_2.jpg

Hannah’s Christmas List, as presented to me on two Post-Its.

Let’s review.

1) Amacin-girl doll or dolls

American Girl doll. 100 bucks a pop. Keep dreamin’, kid.

2) micer fones

Microphones. Hannah and her sister have taken to writing, producing and performing various episodes of “The Abby and Hannah Show.” Think Donny and Marie on helium. The microphones, of course, will provide better sound quality. I’ll have to see how much they cost, but I do like to support their creative spirit.

3) A drum set

Um. No.

4) A Sled

The classic Christmas request. She has forgotten that we already have three. I suspect I could put a bow on one of the inflatable sleds in the basement and call it a gift, and she won’t know the difference. Done.

5) MP3 player

Do they make these in Santa’s workshop?

6 and 7) Webkinz body spray and Webkinz trading cards

I have to hand it to the Webkinz people for their marketing genius. Webkinz started as a line of little stuffed animals with a website home, and now they have an entire product line that’s constantly sold out everywhere.

8) Wii

Har!

9) A blanket from Nonnie

I love this one. “Nonnie” is my mom, and she has made maybe twelve blankets for Hannah so far. Some were made with Hannah’s input on color choices (purple mixed with hot pink mixed with bright orange. Which actually, is very similar to the blanket my mom lovingly made for me when I was four or five.) All of them are beloved and well-used. Hannah certainly doesn’t need any more than she already has, nor does my mom have the time to churn one out every year, but I love that Hannah has it on her “most-wanted” list.

10) Winter close

Um, Hannah has so many winter clothes that I can’t close her drawers. Of course, this isn’t about what she needs. This is about fashionista couture.

11) Snow spray

I wasn’t sure what this was, so Hannah described it to me as “That stuff you put on windows to make it look like they’re all snowy.” There are currently ten inches of snow in my yard, with up to eight more expected over the next two days. We don’t really need the illusion of more, plus I know that if a spray can of “snow” enters my house, it will end up on the rug, on the cats and all over the bathroom, so… *buzzer!*

12) Yarn

Aw, I love it when she’s crafty. Yarn it is.

13) Cha cha cha chida

It’s amazing that after all these years, Chia Pets still have what must be the largest TV advertising budget in history. If I can find one, she’ll get one.

14) Alarm colck

I’m not sure why she wants to subject herself to one of these awful Time-Keepers from Hell before it’s absolutely necessary, but I suspect it has something to with whatever is on the Disney Channel at 6:00 AM on Sunday.

8 responses to “All She Wants for Christmas Is A Whole Bunch of Stuff

  1. You’ve certainly got your ‘to do list’ cut out for you.
    Cheers

  2. Sounds reasonable to me, Mom.

  3. Froogle.com turns up chias galore, mom. I like the chia donkey from Shrek. It looks like Donkey merged with Shrek in some sort of botched animation attempt once it’s grown. The chia hippo is also cute though.

  4. Regarding #1, I can remember wanting an American Girl Doll as a child (there were only 3 choices back then), but it never made my list because I knew there was no way my mother would spend that much on a doll. Your daughter, Hannah, is bold. You never know unless you ask!

    Also, I love that she submitted her list on Post-its (Post-its=fun.)

  5. I just love it when my kids dream too. LOL

  6. Update: They have Chias at Walgreens.

    /public service announcement

  7. That girl of yours has the GIRLIEST handwriting I’ve ever seen…! It’s absolutely absurdly charming. I’d get her everything on the list, just ‘cuz of that.

Leave a Reply

