Couldn’t the Same Be Said About [Insert Name of Brilliant Mathematician Here]?

This just in from the Math section of Sam’s most recent progress report, as issued on official Special Education Department stationery (I find myself reading the following paragraph over and over, because it makes me giggle, which probably would get me some odd looks from the middle school principal and some of Sam’s teachers, but I can live with that):

Progress Report Information: Sam knows what to do with the data, and which data is useful, but he generally wants to immediately solve the problem, and does not list the data unless prompted. Sam requires cueing and support in order to explain his steps in any format. At times, Sam’s answer to a request for an explanation is, “Because that is the right answer.” It is difficult for Sam to explain his reasoning, although his reasoning is usually accurate.

So… he can’t explain why, but he’s efficient and confident and right? I think I’m okay with that.

Gratuitous Bragging Addendum, Just ‘Cuz I’m Proud and Will Never, Ever Skip An Opportunity to Gush: May as well reflect back on a few gems from the past.

UPDATE: It occurs to me that no Sam retrospective is complete without his poetic stylings.

4 responses to “Couldn’t the Same Be Said About [Insert Name of Brilliant Mathematician Here]?

  1. You crow away dearie – Horray!

  2. Pingback: Whitterer on Autism » Blog Archive » Christmas Meme 22nd

  3. It’s that whole “show your work” thing. I’ve heard teachers say that all my life.

    *rolls eyes*

    That’s just for the kids who can’t do a problem and are hoping they’ll get partial credit if their “work” is kinda sorta going in the right direction. ;-)

    Besides, we know he kicks scientific notation’s butt. Way to go, Sam!

  4. Let Sam the man know that Uncle Mike used to get answers in chemistry class without using the proper “dimensional analysis” procedure. I was actually accused of cheating or getting the right answer by chance..until I did it again and again. She never could figure out how my brain worked. It just did.

    Mike, really? See, this is why it’s good to have a blog. You learn things about your siblings. -KDF

Leave a Reply

