I Resolve

… to not resolve a single damn thing, except for the stuff that I’m resolving already.

Besides, I already belong to (and go to, even) a gym, I’m nice to my neighbors, I eat green vegetables, drink V8, and I write (almost) every day.

My children won’t be better behaved next year, the bathroom sink will not be shinier, I won’t clear out the clutter littering the basement, and I’m sure there will be even more dust bunnies under my couch.

However, 2008 will be the best year ever. I believe!

4 responses to “I Resolve

  1. I made a very similar declaration for myself. Boo to shiny bathroom sinks!

  2. I’m gonna do my darndest to lose the rest of the excess weight. Cliché, I know, but it’s not a new year’s resolution if you were planning to do it anyway, is it?

    30 lbs down, 40 to go!

    I also resolve to spend at least as much time with my scrapbook as I do with my TV. Maybe. As much as I’ve spent on supplies this week, I’d better. Why I chose an expensive hobby that frustrates me, I do not know, but at least I have something nice to show for it when I work at it. :-)

    WOW, you have lost 30 pounds? B, that’s amazing! -KDF

  3. Not really. It took a whole year. And it didn’t involve {much} exertion on my part, so why not? If I’d known it was going to be that easy, I would’ve done it a long time ago, but I have a sneaking suspicion that it was easier at the beginning than it will be from here on out. I’ve temporarily suspended weight-loss efforts and remained in a holding pattern over the holidays, but I’m going to have to start cracking down again now. *sigh*

    Be proud of it, B. Losing it slowly like that means you’re more likely to keep the weight off, and it DOES take effort to change your habits, which you must have done in order for that to happen. As for the “holding pattern over the holidays” — life is too short not to allow yourself some splurges, and diets that don’t allow for that are doomed to fail miserably. Weight loss/maintenance is a life change, and telling yourself that you’ll never again eat chocolate or buttery mashed potatoes or roast beast or whipped cream (crap, now I’m getting hungry) is just too depressing. You splurge, and then you just decide to make up for it elsewhere. It works. You have decided to do it, so you will. -KDF

  4. Yup. My creed is everything in moderation. I don’t eliminate anything completely; I could never stick to a diet like that, and as you say, I’d just gain it all back when my will power wore thin. I still eat stuff I want; just less of it. I try to limit my calorie intake to 1500 a day, so if I must have a chocolate pastry from Panera, I just budget it in and keep my meals under 1200. :-) And I was doing a little excercise routine fairly regularly too, but I suspended that over the holidays as well. I’d better start it back up tonight. Or maybe tomorrow. ;-)

Leave a Reply

