My Intellectual Contribution (So Far) to Presidential Election ’08

Yesterday, Dave Barry conducted a little live question and answer session, as part of his on-the-scene coverage of the New Hampshire primary. Common themes included voter trends, change, Cheez-Its, change, possible nicknames for Mike Huckabee and Dick Harpootlian (neither of whom need nicknames, since their real names are already so fun to say out loud) and also change. I submitted several questions, which Dave graciously answered, much to my school-girlish delight.

Here’s the intro to the Q&A, as written by a professional-type Miami Herald person and seen on The Herald’s website, followed by my questions and Dave’s responses.

davebarry.jpg

Dave Barry is running for President of the United States — but because he is a trained journalism professional, he is also sporadically covering the other, lesser candidates. On Jan. 8, 29 and on future dates that he can’t disclose just yet, he’ll be chatting live from 1-2 p.m. here. That’s right, he’ll actually be sitting behind a computer at the very same time as you, the reader, send him questions and comments. Please keep in mind that while Dave will answer as many questions as he can, he will laugh at most of them and delete them. That said, Dave may actually answer a question, and it could be yours.

Q: Dave, I realize that you are vehemently pro-change, but generally, I find that it’s easier to type responses to questions if I’m sitting in front of a computer, rather than behind one. Please explain how you developed this specialized skill, which is impressive, yet disturbing.
KDF, Not Quite as Snowy as NH, but Close 1/08/08

A: .rorrim a gnisu epyt I
Dave Barry 1/08/08

Q: Dave, what is Governor Huckabee’s position on Cheez-Its?
KDF 1/08/08

A: I am sure he views them as a an important nutritional component. FACT: One bag of Cheez-Its supplies 8 percent of your daily requirement of little square things the color of a traffic cone.
Dave Barry 1/08/08

Q: Mr. Barry, I took all of my change to the Coinstar machine and now I just have regular old cash, equivalent mathematically to the amount of coinage I turned in (minus a 9% counting fee, of course.) My question: since “change” is all the kids are talking about these days, and given the fact that change is apparently gaining value by the millisecond, particularly in New Hampshire, can I look forward to a day when the people in charge of the various Coinstar machines in my neighborhood will actively compete for my business and will not only stop charging me this so-called “counting fee,” but will pay me a premium to use their machine above anyone else’s just so that they can post boastful signs claiming that they believe in change and have more than anyone else?
KDF 1/08/08

A: That is a LOT of typing.
Dave Barry 1/08/08

Please pardon my giggling, but it was a heck of a lot of fun to participate in that.

Dave’s entire Q & A, which in my humble opinion, is well worth the click, can be seen by clicking here. You must start at the end and go backwards in order to follow the Q&A in order, but hey, the internets are funny like that.

5 responses to “My Intellectual Contribution (So Far) to Presidential Election ’08

  1. i saw that your questions got posted, kay, and the questions and his replies made me *snork*

    way to go, sistah!

  2. You pay a 9% counting fee? R-I-P-O-F-F!

    Total rip off, but otherwise, it just sits in the piggy bank doing nothing. If I choose to take it in gift card form, though (Barnes & Noble, Starbucks, etc.) instead of cash — no counting fee, so there’s that. -KDF

  3. Ummmm……Barnes and Noble? I think you meant “Borders.”

    Oops. Yep, you’re right. -KDF

  4. Since you have all this time on your hands (*snork*) may I suggest coin wrappers, which you can exchange at the bank for bills?

    That’s what I do, anyway.

    Jeff, the limits of my patience prevent me from messing with coin wrappers. This is definitely one of those situations where I’m willing to pay the Sucker-Fee (and use the time to get the laundry folded instead.) :) -KDF

  5. Longing for Holiday

    Sigh. I wish I could be as funny as you, Dave Barry, and Hannah.

    But I’ll have to settle and be as funny as me.

    Aw, shucks. {{{LfH}}} -KDF

Leave a Reply

